The Roman Catholic

Diocese of Las Cruces

About us

The Diocese of Las Cruces comprises 10 Southern Counties in the State of New Mexico. It serves over 234,550 Catholics through 46 parishes, 40 missions, and five schools. Bishop Peter Baldacchino leads the diocese.


Our Bishop

Bishop Baldacchino served as a priest for the Archdiocese of Newark for 18 years. Previously serving as auxiliary bishop of Miami, on May 15, 2019, Bishop Peter Baldacchino was named by Pope Francis as the third bishop of the Diocese of Las Cruces.